top of page

Spring will be here soon, right?! + Reverse Macro How To!


Well... we just got hit with another winter storm. -__- This time it was a lot more snow (5in) and less ice (1in). Even though I'm ready for spring, I welcomed this snow day with open arms. Afterall, this should be the LAST snow before spring, so why not enjoy it one last time?! I decided to get my camera out and take some reverse macro shots. I don't have a lot of scenery around my house, but I did find this evergreen tree close to my neighbors back yard. Some of you are probably wondering what reverse macro is. Well, if you are poor like me, then you can't afford a macro lens... but if you have a prime lens like a 50mm 1.8 which is what I use and hear is the easiest lens for this, you can dismount the lens from the camera, turn it around and hold it up to the body. You won't be able to mount it since it's backwards. Hence why this is called 'reverse' macro. Before you start taking pictures, you will have to adjust your settings manually (I do this before I dismount the lens). For the f/stop, a good start is f4 since we'll need some depth (macro has a very shallow depth of field). For the shutter speed, you will need something like 125 or higher. We need something fast - the focus mechanism won't work on the camera since we have the lens dismounted, so you'll have to be the focus. What you do is keep your finger on the shutter button and move in close to your subject and slowly move forward and back until you see the subject in focus. It's very easy to lose focus, so having your finger on the shutter button is a good way to quickly snap. I'm still getting the hang of this myself. I know with this shot, I was shivering the whole time, so it was hard to keep focus well. After much shivering and frostbitten fingers, I finally got one good shot out of the 30 I took, ha. So worth it though. :) Why don't you try it out and then show me what you get?


bottom of page